Autism Related, Types of Autism

Learning About the Types of Autism

bookWe are going to visit the library and dust off the books to learn about the types of Autism.

In a previous blog, I mentioned the types of Autism. The types that I researched and found are: Atypical Autism, Asperger’s Syndrome, Autistic Disorder, Broad Autism Phenotype, Childhood Disintegrative Disorder, High Functioning Autism, Mild Autism, Pervasive Developmental Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (PDD-NOS), Rhett Syndrome, and Severe Autism. There may be even more types of Autism not recognized here but these are the most common.

Atypical Autism-This term is used when a person’s behavior fits some (2 or 3) of the criteria for Autism. This child is diagnosed after age 3 or later in life. They have milder developmental and social delays. This is also considered as PDD-NOS. Some websites state that PDD-NOS is no longer in general use.

*Asperger’s Syndrome Characteristics-Less severe symptoms and the absence of language delays. These children will be mildly affected, have good language and cognitive skills, and possess average to above-average intelligence.  Individuals with Asperger’s Disorder may be socially awkward. They usually want to fit in and have interaction with others, but often they don’t know how. They may have limited eye contact, seem unengaged in a conversation and not understand the use of gestures or sarcasm. Their interests in a particular subject may border on the obsessive. They may have good rote memory skills but struggle with abstract concepts. While motor difficulties are not a specific criterion for Asperger’s, children with Asperger’s Disorder frequently have motor skill delays. This would also be classified with High Functioning Autism.

*Autism Society

Autistic Disorder-Classified with the classic definition of Autism.

Broad Autism Phenotype-According to Very Well Health describes an even wider range of individuals who exhibit problems with personality, language, and social-behavioral characteristics at a level that is considered to be higher than average but lower than is diagnosable with autism. Individuals who meet the criteria of the broad autism phenotype are identified through a test called the “Social Responsiveness Scale.”

Childhood Disintegrative Disorder-This occurs after age 3. Children lose language, motor, social, and other skills that they already learned. According to Nichlaus Children’s Hospital the symptoms are:

  • Delay or lack of spoken language
  • Impairment in nonverbal behaviors
  • Inability to start or maintain a conversation
  • Lack of play
  • Loss of bowel and bladder control
  • Loss of language or communication skills
  • Loss of motor skills
  • Loss of social skills
  • Problems forming relationships with other children and family members

Mild and Severe Autism-are descriptions of severity of Autism

Rhett Syndrome-rare, severe neurological disorder that occurs almost exclusively in girls and leads to severe impairments. Usually Recognized in infancy up to two years of age. Some of the symptoms include: problems with hand movements, no language skills, problems with muscles and coordination, and trouble with breathing.

Severe AutismLow-functioning autism, classic autism, “Kanner’s” autism (after the person who first described autism as a unique disorder), or profound autism. Severe Autism describes autistic individuals with the most significant symptoms. These individuals need the most support.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *